Banana Bread Oatmeal

photo 1

A sneak peak of today’s recipe

Morning guys! Happy Sunday. I’ve been up since about 7:30am watching the Monaco Grand Prix with the bf.. any Formula 1 fans out there? This is the first race I’ve ever watched and I have to say it’s pretty cool.

So yesterday was another busy day of moving..but in the midst of the madness I ended up having time to make banana bread for a friend of Hal’s who was helping us move a couch. Naturally, the smell of banana bread (and the fact I wasn’t making it for me) made me extremely jealous so something had to be done. I still hadn’t had a chance to eat breakfast #2 yet (all I had eaten was my morning bowl of fruit), so I decided to whip up some banana bread oatmeal on the stove.

Please excuse the quality of the food photography because my good camera is packed up for the move. I’m literally embarrassed at these photographs but I wanted to share it ASAP instead of waiting to reshoot because it is just that good.

This recipe is fail-proof, delicious, and a crowd-pleaser (just like this banana bread recipe from my obsession, Chocolate Covered Katie). It is also super easy and super healthy. The sugar is natural and coming from the banana, the chia seeds are full of fiber, protein, and omega 3′s (not to mention give the recipe a great texture), and the vanilla+cinnamon give it that sweet, banana-bready taste. The bananas and chia seeds also add a lot of the volume, so you are getting a lot of bang (food/enjoyment) for your buck (calories).

Ingredients:

  • 1 banana, sliced
  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1 Tbsp chia seeds
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla
  • 1/8 tsp cinnamon
  • a dash of salt
  • 1 part milk of choice, 1 part water to cover mixture
  • optional: handful of raisins, or a handful of chocolate chips
  • You may need to add some honey, or agave, if you have a real sweet tooth, but to me a really ripe banana makes it sweet enough

I like to let the oats soak for 5-10 minutes before placing the whole mix over medium heat. After that, it only takes about 5 minutes to cook. I like to top the mix with a Tbsp of peanut butter, which gets all melty and delicious.

photo 5This recipe is perfect for a chilly fall morning – and with the cold weather we have been experiencing in NYC it may as well be fall. At least today it’s finally sunny :)

So how is your Memorial Day weekend going so far? What’s your favorite chilly-day recipe??

Leave a Reply

