aaf5d647f591599cf5f155e7929524a0

Bananas: A Love Song

Happy Friday guys!!!! Err…Thursday. To me it feels like a Friday thanks to “summer Fridays [off]” at work. That, and the fact my sister is coming to visit me tomorrow have put me in a Friday state of mind – I can barely contain my excitement!!!

So the other day I was browsing my “Health Nutty” board on Pinterest and I had the realization that it is pretty much an homage to bananas. First, I have this fan club picture of bananas:

403ea5bc5a62f5c9dcfe97a6d940b049And then, even the recipes that have nothing to do with bananas somehow include pictures of bananas…! It must be subconscious. Speaking of Pinterest…are you guys as obsessed as I am? For me Pinterest is a full-on addiction. And as a major foodie, I’m basically browsing the Food & Drink + Health & Fitness tab 24/7. Very little escapes my attention.

This picture which I found on Pinterest also just so happened to inspire my favorite new way to eat bananas – in the form of frozen peanut butter banana sandwiches.

banana pb frozen bitesWhen I first saw this recipe, I actually thought it looked kinda boring. Just 2 foods and that somehow makes a pinterest-worthy recipe? (and I say this as the queen of short-ingredient-list recipes.) But with 2 too-ripe bananas sitting on my counter top the other day and nothing to lose, I decided to give it a go. I sliced up some bananas, spread some pb, and wrapped them individually in saran wrap. A few hours later I was hungry after the gym so I gave them a try. For reasons I can’t explain or understand – they. were. DELICIOUS! So much more so than you’re average banana dipped in pb. Maybe the frozen-ness made me feel like I was eating ice cream? I don’t know. All I know is you have to try them.

Apparently people are also dipping these puppies in chocolate?

YUM. I’ll definitely be giving this a try. But before I unveil some other banana recipes I go bananas for, let’s revisit the basics.

Why are bananas good for us?

Bananas are good for us because they are a high potassium and low sodium food, making them a heart-healthy choice. Potassium also helps regulate blood sugar levels, meaning you’re not going to get that sugar high and subsequent crash. Bananas also contain prebiotic fiber and resistant starch, which curb hunger and increase fat metabolism. Bananas are also high in vitamin B6 – which helps prevent heart disease and artery blockage while boosting your immune system. Like all foods, bananas should be consumed in moderation (I say this because of that diet where you eat like 5 bananas for a meal. That is so not healthy, and hopefully you don’t need me to tell you that!). Also, only eat ripe bananas. Bananas that are still green are harder on your digestive system.

So now that we are all on board the “banana boat” (haha, get it?) let’s move on to some other FAB pinterest recipes starring bananas.

1.Homemade Healthy Ice Cream

frozPuréed frozen banana + peanut butter + unsweetened cacao = done.

2. Blueberry Banana Oat Cakes

13000c9ff665841ee2b4391bdbaf8e331 ripe banana, mashed 1/2 cup dry oats 1 teaspoon cinnamon 1/4 cup blueberries (fresh) Dash of vanilla extract

3. Vegan Banana Bread

42f58d3b8a0c45044728dd6fd6abbb3bSee http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/2011/11/02/polka-dot-banana-bread/ for the recipe.

4. Cinnamon Sugar Grilled Bananas

aaf5d647f591599cf5f155e7929524a0See http://blog.belovedgreen.com/2011/09/grilled-bananas-and-giveaway.html for recipe.

5. And my very favorite: The Whipped PB Greek Yogurt

DSC_0058 copyThis, I have already written a post about ;)

So..is your tummy grumbling yet?

Have a great day and happy almost weekend :)

Leave a Reply

