The Sun Also Rises

Good morning and happy Sunday, guys!

It’s been a tough couple of weeks in the Northeast — by which I mean snowy, rainy, and/or brutally cold every. single. day. minus Super Bowl Sunday. And this is coming from a girl whose favorite season is winter!

But just when I was starting to give up on the idea that it would ever be warm and sunny again, I woke up to the most beautiful sunrise, replete with piercingly blue skies and chirping birds. I thought of taking a picture, but was way too warm and toasty in my bed. You’ll just have to take my word for it, there is definitely a light at the end of the tunnel.

The good news about all this crazy weather is that, while hibernating, I have been cookin’ up a storm. So whether you are looking for a yummy breakfast, a use for over-ripe bananas, or want to bring an original, off-the-beaten-path appetizer to a party, I got you covered πŸ™‚

Egg-Over-Easy Mexican Pizza

DSC_0193 copyMade this for the bf yesterday morning and impressed us both. The best part? It took no more than 20 mins. Start by sauteing mushrooms in olive oil and a little balsamic vinegar over medium heat. After about 10 mins, add fresh tomatoes (or canned diced tomatoes), about 1 tsp chopped garlic (or 1/2 tsp garlic powder) and season with S&P. Simmer for about 5 minutes and then pour over toast. Optional: add shredded cheese (or Daiya for all you lactose-intolerants like me), and place in the oven at 200 degrees for a couple of minutes, just to stay warm. Now it is time to cook your eggs. You can cook them however you want, but I did mine over easy because it’s delicious (and IMO, easy πŸ™‚ ). Dice up an avocado while you wait for the egg to cook and take your mini toast pizzas out of the oven.Β  To assemble, scoop a few pieces of avocado onto your “pizza”, and top with the egg. Serve with Hot Sauce (I’m all about Frank’s Red Hot at the moment).

Don’t-Bring-Me-Down Banana Bread Muffins

DSC_019c4Do you guys know the song Don’t Bring Me Down? To me it’s the epitome of a feel good song – and these are feel good muffins! They are every bit as delicious as the banana bread you ate as a child, sans the butter, oil and refined sugar. For best results, serve warm with a little bit of earth balance spread or nut butter. Here is the recipe:

(makes 8 medium sized muffins)

  • 2 c spelt flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1 stevia packet (if you skip, add 1 extra tbsp of agave or maple syrup)
  • 1/3 c milk of choiceΒ (I used AlmondDream)
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • 1/3 – 1/2 cup agave or maple syrup (depending on how much of a sweet tooth you have – I used closer to 1/3)
  • 1 c tightly-packed, mashed banana
  • 1 c apple sauce
  • Optional: chocolate chips or carob chips (I used carob, they are my latest obsession!)

Preheat oven to 350. Mix wet ingredients by hand (mash the bananas with a fork) and stir in the dry ingredients. Cook for 13-15 mins. Enjoy!

Under-The-Tuscan-Sun Smashed Chickpea Dip

Are you enjoying the creativity of my titles today? I think I will institute it as Cee Food policy! I learned this recipe from watching the cooking channel and it has quickly become one of my favorite party apps. It smells amazing, tastes amazing, and is a total crowd-pleaser.

chickpeaInterested? Here is the link to the recipe.

I typically modify the recipe by using basil instead of parsley and I don’t usually add cheese (but next time I think I will try it with Daiya). I have served this with a baguette, crackers and pita chips – and you really can’t go wrong. It is best served warm, and pairs quite well with a glass of white wine πŸ™‚

Well I think that is all I’ve got for you today. Enjoy the rest of your weekend, even if you have to spend it in hibernation mode!

These recipes, plus a book (or Bravo, I don’t judge), a blanket & a cup of tea should keep you warm.

Until next time,

Cee

About cee@ceefooddifferently

Lover of puppies, art, raspberries, and kindness. Low key very into wellness.
This entry was posted in FOOD and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Sun Also Rises

  1. OMG!That Mexican Pizza looks AMAZING. I just realized I still haven’t eaten anything today and now I’m staaarvingggg! Thanks for sharing delicious recipes!

    xoxo
    Olena

    Like

  2. MicheleMariePoetry says:

    That Mexican pizza is on my schedule for tomorrow!

    Like

  3. I know, I know, it has been only about 24 hours since my previous comment, but I honestly couldn’t wait for your next post πŸ˜€ I came across your blog only yesterday and I really liked it, and then a nice opportunity arised so I decided to nominate your blog for Liebster Award. You can check it out here: http://candiesandcrunches.com/2014/02/10/what-exactly-a-tempo-run-is-liebster-award/

    I am really looking forward to reading your blog more and also getting you to know better through the questions. I am super curious to see your answers to my tricky questions haha!

    Congrats once again!

    xoxo
    Olena

    Like

  4. Hi Olena, Thanks so much for nominating me and also for taking the time to comment πŸ™‚ I love tricky questions too so keep them coming!! Have a great day!

    Like

Leave a comment